Mediation And Legal Continuing Education And Training
Note: Live Webinars courses are held alternating weeks on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Check courses for dates. Continuing Mediation Education, FL RC Notes–Live Method 2. ( Method 1: Classroom or Live Webinar) (Method 2: Group discussion or a recording)
There are two methods of earning continuing mediator education (CME) hours that involve using audio or video recordings.
On the CME Reporting Form these are education methods 2 and 3. The difference in these methods is that method 2 is considered a live, interactive activity and method 3 is a non-live activity.
Method 3 is simply listening to or viewing a CME presentation on your own. On the other hand, method 2 involves listening to or viewing a CME presentation in a group with at least one other person present and requires real time interaction either in person, telephonically, or through electronic means.
Florida CME Requirement: 16 hours of continuing mediator education (CME) credits for which 50%(8 hours) must be live, method 1, or 2.
County: 16 hours which includes 4 hours of mediator ethics, 2 hours of interpersonal violence education and 1 hour of diversity/cultural awareness.
Family: 16 hours which includes 4 hours of mediator ethics, 4 hours interpersonal violence education and 1 hour of diversity/cultural awareness.
Dependency: 16 hours which includes 4 hours of mediator ethics, 4 hours of interpersonal violence education and 1 hour of diversity/cultural awareness
Circuit: 16 hours which included 4 hours of mediator ethics, 2 hours of interpersonal violence education and 1 hour of diversity/cultural awareness.
Appellate: 4 hours of appellate-specific mediation education. This may be part of or in addition to the required 16 hours per renewal cycle of the underlying certification.
Florida BAR CLE Requirements
Over a 3-year period, each member must complete 33 hours, 5 of which must be in the area of ethics, professionalism, substance abuse, mental illness awareness, or bias elimination and 3 hours of technology.
Please note: It is the responsibility of the member to report CLE credit and to complete the CLER requirement.
Frequently Asked Questions About CLE Requirements – The Florida Bar
New York BAR CLE Requirements – Rules for Accredited by a New York Approved Jurisdiction apply.
Newly-admitted attorneys must complete a minimum of 32 credit hours within the first two years after admission to the Bar. First two years, 16 accredited hours must be completed : 3 hours of ethics and professionalism; 6 hours of skills; 7 hours of law practice management and areas of professional practice.
All other attorneys; complete a minimum of 24 credit hours each biennial reporting cycle; at least 4 credit hours must be in ethics and professionalism.
California BAR CLE Requirements – Rules for Approved Jurisdiction Apply
Twenty Five hours of MCLE every three years. Half of the 25 MCLE hours must be participatory MCLE credit. 4 hour hours of legal ethics; 1 hour competence issues, 1 hour in Recognition and Elimination of Bias in the Legal Profession and Society. An attorney can claim California MCLE credit for education activities attended/taken outside California, provided that: the attorney is outside California when attending the activity; the activity can be approved; the activity is approved by an Approved Jurisdiction.
STEP 1 – SELECT COURSES
Review our online continuing education and distance-learning catalog; select desired courses – live or recorded webinars, workshops, online courses – and add them to your cart. Once registration process is completed, an account is automatically created for you, allowing instant access to courses.
STEP 2 – COMPLETE COURSES
All courses are offered online. Recorded presentations are available 24/7 and registration is valid for 60 days (extension may be granted at request). Live webinars and workshops can be accessed online at the scheduled time. Courses can be accessed using computers, smart phones, ipads, or similar devices